Go Back   Electric Mole Forums > Other > Off-Topic (Music)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off-Topic (Music) Similar/Non-Related Artists

Old 2008.09.17, 10:47 AM   #1
justriiingo

justriiingo can barely hear you above the sound of how awesome they arejustriiingo can barely hear you above the sound of how awesome they are
Default The Vinyl & Turntable Thread

Merman posted some comments about turntables in the other thread which I thought I should comment on. Hopefully other members who own turntables will join in the conversation too. Anyway, said quote is:

Originally Posted by merman View Post
Turntable is a really cool thing... I'm no sound expert but I really like the sound of a vinyl better than the sound of a CD (and honestly I've listened to a vinyl with headphones on a decent turntable like 2 times in my life and not even to the full thing, but I could tell I liked it better).

As a bit of an off-topic question, those who own turntables here, which brands would you recommend to a standard user? I know I want to buy one in some time, and I don't really need a super-duper hi-tech setup.
(Note: I don't claim to be an expert in this area. I just got into this whole vinyl business 2 years ago. I hope this information will be useful to you.)

I personally own a TT from Pro-Ject and also their Phono Box II. I think the model I own has been discontinued by Pro-Ject but I think it should be similar to the Xpression series. I got both the TT and the phono box for about $250 total... 2nd or 3rd hand of course. Which is a really good deal. Anyway, I think Pro-Ject is quite a value-for-money brand. Their current TTs come with Ortofon cartridges and these have quite a good reputation in the industry.